Illinois Concealed Carry
 Comment(s)

We live in a fortunate time where concealed carry is legal in the vast majority of the states, but it is important to remember that the laws that govern it can vary dramatically from state to state. To help provide you with useful information, what follows is a general overview of each state’s laws. It covers laws in permit issuance, if out-of-state permits are issued to nonresidents, and if permits issued in other states are recognized there. Although “reciprocity” is a term of art, it is used here in the more general sense of whether a given state will recognize permits from other states. However, while a state may recognize one permit, that does not mean that it will recognize all permits from all states. Consequently, you will need to check that, as well as any other limitations—such as ammunition or magazine capacity laws and the laws of self-defense—that could affect you while you’re there. To that end, included are links to official sources in each state, as well as the citation for their CCW statute, to serve as starting points for the additional research you should do to make sure you obey the law.

I must stress that what follows is not legal advice. For that, you must contact an attorney licensed in that state who specializes in this area of law. The goal of this piece is not to answer all the questions you may have, but to tell you where to look for the answers you need.

In addition, you should be aware that laws change and that these changes frequently become effective at unpredictable times. Many states have changed their CCW laws in the past year (you’ll find notes on some of these changes and when they will become effective), and there’s no guarantee that they won’t change again by the time this gets to press and into your hands. Also, available information, even from state agencies, may be conflicting. While the information in this article came from state government sources (including directly from the most recently published statutes), do not rely on this or any other unofficial source. Verify all information prior to traveling, and if you have any doubt at all about carrying, don’t do it.

There’s a legal maxim that ignorance of the law is no excuse. If you’re going to walk around in public with a deadly weapon, the burden is on you to seek out and understand the law, and then to comply with it. Otherwise, the only way you’ll be educated on the law is when you’re charged with breaking it. Since that can cost you both your liberty and your right to ever own a firearm again, even hiring a lawyer to research the question ahead of time looks pretty cheap, doesn’t it?

ALABAMA
Statute: Code of Ala. § 13A-11-75
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $1 • Length: 1 year
Terms of Issuance: May issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: No
Note: Nonresident permits from other states will be recognized, but this is a provisional decisions and subject to change.
http://www.ago.alabama.gov/Page-Gun-Reprocity-Law%20

ALASKA
Statute: Alaska Statutes 18.65.700
Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety,
apply at State Trooper office
Cost: $91.50 initial/$25 renewal • Length: Up to 5 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: No
Note: While a permit is available, none is required to carry concealed in Alaska.
http://dps.state.ak.us/Statewide/PermitsLicensing/concealedhandguns.aspx

ARIZONA
Statute: A.R.S. § 13-3102, 13-3112
Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety,
Concealed Weapons Permits Unit
Cost: $60 initial/$43 renewal • Length: 5 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: While a permit is available, none is required to carry a weapon in Arizona. Consult AZ laws on where and how weapons may be carried.
http://www.azdps.gov/Services/Concealed_Weapons

ARKANSAS
Statute: A.C.A. § 5-73-309
Issuing Authority: Department of State Police
Cost: Depends on age and online/mail-in application. Over 65 years of age, $91.50 mail-in/$95.25 online; under 65, $141.50 mail-in/$147.25 online. Renewals, $60 mail-in/$63 online, with no difference based on age.
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: No
https://www.ark.org/asplicense/chcl_application/chcl.aspx

CALIFORNIA
Statute: Cal Pen Code § 26150, 26155
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff or Chief of Police
Cost: Varies • Length: 2 years max for civilian permit
Terms of Issuance: May issue
Reciprocity: Not provided for
Out-of-State Permits: N/A
http://oag.ca.gov/firearms

COLORADO
Statute: C.R.S. 18-12-203
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $52.50 initial, renewal from $13 to $52.50,
plus local fees
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: No
Note: Effective July 1, 2013, Colorado banned the acquisition of magazines that contain over 15 rounds. Unlike the nationwide ban in 1994, when magazines manufactured prior to the ban were still regularly sold after it went into effect, in Colorado magazines manufactured before the ban appear to be “grandfathered in” only if you actually possessed them prior to the ban and maintained continuous possession of them since that time.
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/CDPS-CBIMain/CBON/1251622199820

CONNECTICUT
Statute: Conn. Gen. Stat. § 29-28
Issuing Authority: Chief of Police, Warden, or First Selectman for local permit, State Police for state permit and for nonresidents.
Cost: $70 initial and renewal • Length: 5 years
Terms of Issuance: May issue • Reciprocity: No
Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: Must apply for a local permit prior to eligibility for state permit; out of state, apply directly to State Police. Some elements of the law change effective October 1, 2013. Verify any changes.
http://www.ct.gov/despp/cwp/view.asp?a=4213&q=494614&desppNav_GID=2080

DELAWARE
Statute: 11 Del. C. § 1441
Issuing Authority: Prothonotary of Superior Court
Cost: $65 initial/renewal
Length: 2 years initial/3 years renewal
Terms of Issuance: May issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: Attorney General has authority to issue a short-term permit to nonresidents under very limited circumstances.
Note: Statute allows 3-year initial permit/5-year renewal, but procedural rules only allow 2/3.
http://courts.delaware.gov/Superior/weapons.stm

FLORIDA
Statute: Fla. Stat. § 790.06
Issuing Authority: Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing
Cost: $112 initial, $60-102 renewal • Length: 7 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: Yes
http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/weapons/index.html

GEORGIA
Statute: O.C.G.A. § 16-11-129
Issuing Authority: County Probate Judge
Cost: $30 plus additional fees that vary by county
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: No
http://dps.georgia.gov/georgias-firearm-permit-
reciprocity
(reciprocity information only)

HAWAII
Statute: HRS § 134-9
Issuing Authority: Chief of Police
Cost: $10 • Length: 1 year
Terms of Issuance: May issue “in an exceptional case”
Reciprocity: No • Out-of-State Permits: N/A
Note: Permits appeared to be limited to carrying in the counties in which they are issued. While out-of-state permits are not specifically provided for, the statute authorizes permits for certain foreign nationals.
http://www.honolulupd.org/information/index.php?page=gunmain

IDAHO
Statute: Idaho Code § 18-3302
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $20 initial plus additional fees/$15 renewal
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
http://www.ag.idaho.gov/concealedWeapons/concealedWeapons_index.html

ILLINOIS
Statute: 430 ILCS 66
Issuing Authority: Department of State Police
Cost: $150 for resident, $300 for non-resident
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: No • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: Concealed carry has just passed in Illinois and is still in the process of being implemented.
http://www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/ccw/ccw-faq.cfm

INDIANA
Statute: Indiana Code § 35-47-2-3
Issuing Authority: Superintendent of State Police through local chief law enforcement officer
Cost: $40-$125 • Length: 4 years or lifetime
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: Out-of-state permits appear to be issued only to those with a regular place of business in Indiana. Some minor elements of law change effective July 1, 2014. Verify any changes.
http://www.in.gov/isp/2828.htm

IOWA
Statute: Iowa Code § 724.11
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $50 initial/$25 renewal
Length: 5 year nonprofessional/1 year professional
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: Yes, but professional permit only
Note: Contact Commissioner of Public Safety for professional and out-of-state permits.
http://www.dps.state.ia.us/asd/weapon_permits.shtml

KANSAS
Statute: K.S.A. § 75-7c05
Issuing Authority: Attorney General
through County Sheriff
Cost: $132.50 initial/$25 renewal • Length: 4 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: No
http://ag.ks.gov/public-safety/concealedcarry

KENTUCKY
Statute: KRS § 237.110
Issuing Authority: State Police through County Sheriff
Cost: $60 initial/$60 renewal • Length: 5 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: No
http://www.kentuckystatepolice.org/conceal.htm

LOUISIANA
Statute: La. R.S. 40:1379.3
Issuing Authority: Deputy Secretary of Department of Public Safety and Corrections
Cost: $125 initial/renewal, $62.50 initial/renewal if 65
or over. Lifetime, $500 if under 65, $250 if over
(varies from statute).
Length: 5 years to lifetime, with proof of training required every 5 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: No
Note: Some elements of the law change January 1, 2014. Verify any changes.
http://www.lsp.org/handguns.html

MAINE
Statute: 25 M.R.S. § 2003
Issuing Authority: Varies by area of residence: Mayor/municipal authority or Chief of State Police
Cost: $35 initial/$20 renewal ($60 for non-residents)
Length: 4 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: Reciprocity appears to apply only to resident permits.
http://www.maine.gov/dps/msp/licenses/weapons_
permits.html

MARYLAND
Statute: Md. Public Safety Code Ann. § 5-306
Issuing Authority: Secretary of State Police
Cost: $75 initial/$50 renewal, plus other fees
Length: 2 years initial/3 years renewal
Terms of Issuance: Statute reads “shall issue,” but requires a “good and substantial” reason
Reciprocity: No • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
http://www.mdsp.org/Organization/SupportServices
Bureau/LicensingDivision/HandgunPermit.aspx

MASSACHUSETTS
Statute: ALM GL ch. 140, § 131
Issuing Authority: Local Chief of Police or
Colonel of State Police
Cost: $100 • Length: 5-6 years
Terms of Issuance: May issue
Reciprocity: No • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
http://www.mass.gov/eopss/firearms-reg-and-laws/

MICHIGAN
Statute: MCLS § 28.422
Issuing Authority: County Concealed Weapon
Licensing Board
Cost: $105 initial and renewal • Length: 4-5 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out of State Permits: No
Note: Reciprocity does not appear to be extended
to nonresident permits.
http://www.michigan.gov/ag/0,4534,7-164-58056_22672—,00.html

MINNESOTA
Statute: Minn. Stat. § 624.714
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $100 or less initial/$75 or less renewal
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=624.714

MISSISSIPPI
Statute: Miss. Code Ann. § 45-9-101
Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety
Cost: $138 initial/$88 renewal • Length: 5 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: Yes (statute allows residency requirement to be waived)
http://www.dps.state.ms.us/firearms/firearms-permit-unit/

MISSOURI
Statute: § 571.101 R.S.Mo.
Issuing Authority: County or City Sheriff,
Director of Revenue
Cost: $100 or less initial/$50 or less renewal
Length: 3 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: No
http://ago.mo.gov/Concealed-Weapons/

MONTANA
Statute: Mont. Code Anno. § 45-8-321
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $50 initial/$25 renewal • Length: 4 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out of State Permits: No
http://doj.mt.gov/enforcement/concealed-weapons/

NEBRASKA
Statute: R.R.S. Neb. § 69-2433
Issuing Authority: State Patrol
Cost: $100 initial/$50 renewal • Length: 5 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: No
https://statepatrol.nebraska.gov/ConcealedCarry.aspx

NEVADA
Statute: Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 202.3657
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $60 initial/$25 renewal, plus additional fees.
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
http://www.lvmpd.com/Permits/ConcealedFirearms.aspx

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Statute: RSA 159:6
Issuing Authority: Local policing agency for residents, State Police for nonresidents
Cost: $10 resident/$100 nonresident
Length: Not less than 4 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: Reciprocity not extended to nonresident permits.
http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/ssb/permitslicensing/plupr.html

NEW JERSEY
Statute: N.J. Stat. § 2C:58-4
Issuing Authority: Chief of Police/Superintendent of State Police/Superior Court
Cost: $20 • Length: 2 years
Terms of Issuance: May issue • Reciprocity: No
Out-of-State Permits: Yes
http://www.state.nj.us/njsp/about/fire_ag2.html

NEW MEXICO
Statute: N.M. Stat. Ann. § 29-19-4
Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety
Cost: not more than $100,
plus fingerprint fee initial/$75 renewal
Length: 4 years, with refresher course required at 2 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: No
http://www.dps.nm.org/index.php/nm-concealed-carry/

NEW YORK
Statute: NY CLS Penal § 400.00
Issuing Authority: Varies
Cost: Varies by geographic location
Length: Varies by geographic location
Terms of Issuance: May issue
Reciprocity: Statute does not appear to provide for it
Out-of-State Permits: N/A
Note: Some elements of the concealed law change January 15, 2014. On January 15, 2013, New York passed an extensive gun control law that included a ban on magazines holding more than seven rounds. Since that time, Governor Cuomo has taken the position that 10-round magazines are legal, so long as they are only loaded with seven rounds. Clearly, the state of the law is very fluid, and if you plan on passing through any part of New York, it would be wise to contact an attorney for legal advice.
http://www.troopers.ny.gov/Firearms/

NORTH CAROLINA
Statute: N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.12
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $80 plus fingerprints initial/$75 renewal
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: No
http://www.ncdoj.gov/about-doj/law-enforcement-training-and-standards/law-enforcement-liason/concealed-weapon-reciprocity.aspx

NORTH DAKOTA
Statute: N.D. Cent. Code, § 62.1-04-03
Issuing Authority: Bureau of Criminal Investigation through local Sheriff/Chief of Police; out of state apply directly to BCI.
Cost: $45 plus fingerprints and testing fees initial/
$45 renewal (see below)
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: Several changes in eligibility, cost and
other elements of the law go into effect on August 1, 2013; cost appears to be the only change to the information above and had not been released at the time of this writing. Verify any changes.
http://www.ag.nd.gov/BCI/CW/CW.htm

OHIO
Statute: ORC Ann. 2923.125
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $67 initial plus other possible fees/
$50 renewal plus other possible fees
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: No
http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/ConcealedCarry.aspx/?from=nav

OKLAHOMA
Statute: 21 Okl. St. § 1290.12
Issuing Authority: State Bureau of Investigation
Cost: $100 initial for 5 years/$85 renewal;
$200 initial for 10 years/$170 renewal
Length: 5 or 10 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: No
Note: Some changes to elements of the law become effective November 1, 2013, primarily addressing temporary permits for those who have been given a domestic-abuse protective order. Verify any changes.
http://www.ok.gov/osbi/Concealed_Weapons_Licensing/

OREGON
Statute: ORS § 166.291
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $65 initial/$50 renewal • Length: 4 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: No
Out of State Permits: Yes
Note: Some minor elements of the law, mostly
applicable to eligibility, appear to change July 1, 2013. Verify any changes.
http://licenseinfo.oregon.gov/index.cfm?fuseaction=license_seng&link_item_id=14705

PENNSYLVANIA
Statute: 18 Pa.C.S. § 6109
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff/Chief of Police
Cost: $25 • Length: 5 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt?open=512&objID=4451&&PageID=462424&level=2&css=L2&mode=2

RHODE ISLAND
Statute: R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-47-11, 18
Issuing Authority: Attorney General, or local authorities, including Board of Police Commissioners/Chief or
Superintendent of Police, Town Clerk, etc.
Cost: $40 • Length: 4 years
Terms of Issuance: May issue
Reciprocity: No (limited reciprocity extended to those passing through the state without delay, and appears to apply only to guns inside a vehicle)
Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: While the attorney general may issue a permit based on a showing of need under 11-47-18,
11-47-11 provides that local licensing authorities
shall issue a permit to a qualified applicant.
http://www.riag.ri.gov/documents/bci/pistols.pdf

SOUTH CAROLINA
Statute: S.C. Code Ann. § 23-31-215
Issuing Authority: S.C. Law Enforcement Division
Cost: $50 initial and renewal • Length: 4 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: Only if applicant owns real property in S.C.
http://www.sled.sc.gov/cwp.aspx?MenuID=CWP

SOUTH DAKOTA
Statute: S.D. Codified Laws § 23-7-7
Issuing Authority: Secretary of State
through County Sheriff
Cost: $10 • Length: 4 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: No
http://sdsos.gov/content/viewcontent.aspx?cat=adminservices&pg=/adminservices/
concealedpistolpermits.shtm

TENNESSEE
Statute: Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-1351
Issuing Authority: Tennessee Department of Safety/Highway Patrol
Cost: $115 initial/$50 renewal • Length: 4 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: Out-of-state permits appear to be provided only to those who are regularly employed in the state.
Some minor changes in the eligibility wording became effective July 1, 2013. Verify any changes.
http://www.tn.gov/safety/handgunmain.shtml

TEXAS
Statute: Tex. Gov’t Code § 411.172
Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety
Cost: $140 initial/$70 renewal, with some possible discounts
Length: 4 years initial/5 years renewal
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: Some training, application and renewal requirements changed effective September 1, 2013. Verify any changes.
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/crime_
records/chl/chlsindex.htm

UTAH
Statute: Utah Code Ann. § 53-5-704
Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety,
Bureau of Criminal Identification
Cost: $46 initial ($51 out of state)/$15 renewal (all)
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
http://www.publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/concealedfirearms.html

VERMONT
Statute: 13 V.S.A. § 4003
Issuing Authority: No permit required
Cost: N/A • Length: N/A
Terms of Issuance: N/A
Reciprocity: N/A • Out-of-State Permits: N/A
Note: No permit required for concealed carry.
http://www.atg.state.vt.us/issues/gun-laws.php

VIRGINIA
Statute: Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-308.02
Issuing Authority: Circuit Court
Cost: $50 or less • Length: 5 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out of State Permits: Yes
http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms.shtm

WASHINGTON
Statute: Rev. Code Wash. (ARCW) § 9.41.070
Issuing Authority: Chief of Police/Sheriff
Cost: $36 initial with additional fees/$32 renewal
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
http://www.atg.wa.gov/ConcealedWeapons.aspx

WEST VIRGINIA
Statute: W. Va. Code § 61-7-4
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Cost: $75 plus $25 in fees • Length: 5 years
Terms of Issuance: Shall issue • Reciprocity: Yes
Out-of-State Permits: No
http://www.wvago.gov/gunrecep.cfm

WISCONSIN
Statute: Wis. Stat. § 175.60
Issuing Authority: Department of Justice
Cost: Less than $37 plus cost of background check initial (currently $40 total)/ less than $12 plus cost of background-check renewal
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: No
http://www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/ConcealedCarry/ccw_frequently_asked_questions.pdf

WYOMING
Statute: Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104
Issuing Authority: Attorney General though County Sheriff
Cost: $74 initial plus possible other fees/$50 renewal
Length: 5 years • Terms of Issuance: Shall issue
Reciprocity: Yes • Out-of-State Permits: Yes
Note: Though one is available, no permit is required to carry concealed in Wyoming as long as eligibility requirements are met.
http://wyomingdci.wyo.gov/dci-criminal-justice-
information-systems-section/concealed-firearms-permits

BUY NOW! AT www.personaldefenseworld.com/subscribe/pocket-pistols.

Up Next

New Products

New Products for Packing Pocket Pistols!