Illinois became the first state in the union to legalize the concealed carry of firearms, after court rulings at the federal and state level.
“Safety is always a concern,” said Andre J.W. Queen Sr., the executive director at Fidelity Investigative Training Academy located in the Kilbourn Park neighborhood. “We want people to know the best practices.”
In Illinois it is required to complete 16 hours of training in order to receive a concealed-carry permit, which most training programs split into two days. The law stipulates the first eight hours are waived for any “active, retired or honorably discharged member of the United States Armed Forces.”
Fidelity Training Academy charges $99 for the first day and $100 for the second.
Anibal Contreras is one of the instructors at Fidelity. During a second-day class last week, he stressed remaining calm and thinking clearly.
“Illinois does not have a stand-your-ground law,” Contreras said. “If you can walk away from a situation, walk away.”
The concealed-carry law allows the weapon to temporarily only be partially concealed, which “allows you those accidental mistakes” such as bending over, Contreras said. “It does not mean you can open carry.”
Read more at: http://news.medill.northwestern.edu/
Illinois became the first state in the union to legalize the concealed carry of firearms,…
by Personal Defense World / Mar 20, 2014