A new spate of pro-gun reform legislation is set to go into effect today in the state of Kentucky. According to the NRA-ILA, House Bill 128, which was signed into law by Governor Steve Beshear (D) on April 11, gives gun owners more freedom regarding the issue of concealed carry. See below for a full rundown of the reforms are going into effect thanks to HB 128.
* Allows retired peace officers with a valid Concealed Deadly Weapons License (CDWL), in accordance with the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), to carry at all times in Kentucky, with an exception for detention facilities.
* Streamlines the CDWL process by allowing applicants to submit their forms – for both new applicants and renewals – electronically.
* Allows honorably discharged armed service members to waive the training requirement for a concealed deadly weapon license with the proper documentation.
* Allows for special law enforcement officers employed by school districts to be included in the definition of “police officer” and make them eligible for certain Kentucky Office of Homeland Security grants.
* Requires that a chief law enforcement officer (CLEO) sign an application for the transfer of any item regulated under the National Firearms Act (NFA) within fifteen days if the applicant is not prohibited by law from receiving it. By removing any possibility of personal bias and creating a statewide standard, HB 128 protects the rights of law-abiding gun owners across Kentucky.
* Allows corrections officers, current or retired, of urban-county governments or consolidated local governments to use their professional training to satisfy the training requirement in applying for a CDWL. HB 128 also allows new residents in Kentucky who have valid concealed carry licenses/permits from other states that have a reciprocal agreement with the Kentucky Department of State Police, to waive the training requirements for Kentucky licenses and to use the out-of-state license in Kentucky for their first 120 days of residence, providing that within sixty days of the resident moving to Kentucky, he or she delivers a form and accompanying documents by registered or certified mail to the Kentucky State Police, evidencing proof of a valid out-of-state license to carry a concealed deadly weapon. This law also stipulates that an out-of-state concealed carry license will become invalid in Kentucky upon either the passage of 120 days or issuance to the person a valid
Kentucky concealed deadly weapons license.
* Allows an individual who has legally sought a court-issued Emergency Protection Order (EPO) the ability to better defend themselves by expediting the permitting process for a CDWL, after a background check.
A new spate of pro-gun reform legislation is set to go into effect today in…
by Personal Defense World / Jul 14, 2014