Vermont Bump Stock Ban, Bump-Fire Stock Ban, Vermont gun law
Slide Fire Solutions/Facebook
 Comment(s)

Vermont State Police began their anonymous and voluntary collection program this week as the Vermont bump stock ban readies for its Oct. 1 start date.

The ban comes as a part of sweeping gun control legislation signed into law on April 11 by Gov. Phil Scott.

Vermont Bump Stock Ban

Officially titled Act 94, the legislation defines bump-fire stocks as “a butt stock designed to be attached to a semiautomatic firearm and intended to increase the rate of fire achievable with the firearm to that of a fully automatic firearm by using the energy from the recoil of the firearm to generate a reciprocating action that facilitates the repeated activation of the trigger.”

The voluntary collection program began Sept. 17. Vermont resident can anonymously surrender their bump-fire stocks at any of the 10 VSP barracks in the state Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.

Residents must remove bump-fire stocks from their firearms before entering the barracks.

Those found with bump-fire stocks after the Oct. 1 deadline face up to one year in prison and $1,000 in fines.

“Barracks staff will take no information about the identity of the person surrendering the bump-fire stock,” police said. “The voluntarily surrendered devices will be held in a secure area in the barracks pending destruction.”

Up Next

WATCH: 85-Year-Old Great Grandpa Attacks Armed Robbers, Foils Heist

Three armed robbers with a sawed-off shotgun and hammers were no match for an 85-year-old...